Cincinnati 2013 – Morning shadows

Cincinnati 2013 Lady and shadow

Lady and the shadow

For this shot I used a common practice of street photographers. I chose a place with great light and interesting background and waited. I like architectural shots, but am happy when a living creature enters the scene. This lady is clearly elderly and normally I would not photograph her with no other compelling reason, but here she is completely anonymous and in my mind symbolizes old age with her stoop. I know at my age I look like this.

Without the lighting she would simply be another citizen on the sidewalk. I believe placing her here with the interesting lighting adds to her dignity.

As always I would enjoy your comments.

Leave a Reply

